Blogging 101: Say Hello to the Neighbors

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I joined five new neighborhoods today.  I knocked on the doors of five new neighbors and said hello…quietly.

I have to be honest here.  I’ve had other blogs and I really messed things up before.  I don’t have great social skills and that puts me at quite a disadvantage when it comes to blogging.  I’ve had to read articles to educate myself about what makes a good comment when visiting others blogs (my thanks to the Daily Post, that article was quite helpful).  I try to learn how not to annoy people or come off sounding …well…just plain weird.  I’m getting better at things.  I’m listening more to what other people have to say or are going through.  Posting has always been easy…it’s getting along in the community that has been hard for me.

My past mistakes still make me very cautious about who I follow, what I put my “Like” stamp on.  I’m a complicated person with many quirks and that makes me hard to understand at times.  My humor is a touch off the wall, such a far ways off sometimes, I think things are funny that really aren’t.  I say things trying to get a chuckle and they come across in bad taste or with poor timing.  I just don’t think sometimes and that gets me in trouble.  I even went off the deep end a few years ago when I created a ton of drama for myself in a majority of the blogging communities and was shunned for it…dare I say even rightfully attacked for it.  I had it coming, I know that now.

I have learned from my blogging experiences that once a community is founded, it protects its members like family.  When you make a bad name for yourself, it’s almost impossible to be accepted back into the community without proving that you’ve changed, if that even will do it as some people wont ever forgive and no one ever forgets…the internet never forgets.

So I say hello to you all, old and new.  I’m excited to find your blog and be a new, better, member of your community.  I will do my best to be a friendly neighbor, to read your posts and keep my comments relevant to your content.  I will try not to repeat my mistakes from the past.  I will keep visiting and posting and reading and liking and following.

Welcome to my community at the Peridot Pixie.

Have a lovely rest of the day or night wherever you are.

~ Pixie

14 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Say Hello to the Neighbors

  1. Fantastic photographs, I’m glad you decided to shoot them I had a photo printing business and know that 99.9999999% of photos taken are terrible, these 3 are well thought out and capture something that not everyone will see. I guess you see “frames” in situations and places then set up the camera to capture them, am I correct?

    Like

    • Thank you! I do plot out a lot of my photos like that, yes. I just grab the camera and click furiously when caught in a storm though, that’s my favorite subject to shoot. I can’t wait for this spring when the storm season hits. Then my photos get really cool not just cold like they presently are…all things in time though. 😉

      Like

    • Welcome newbie 🙂
      I made mistakes. There are some really great people to meet here on WordPress, I’m thankful to still be part of the blogging world through it all. Glad you like my photos thanks for saying hello. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Pixie,
    You did drop by quietly. So fitting for a pixie. Your photos are captivating. The way the light illuminates that tree is almost spellbinding. As for your past…no one is perfect and we all mess up, time and again, but I know some do not always allow you to grow and change but, hey, that’s their burden.
    It’s nice to meet you. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Samantha,
      Thank you for your kind words. Great to meet you as well! I like how you write with a down to earth style, as if I were sipping tea with an old friend. I look forward to reading more and getting to know you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

